Our History: 2014 - Current

In his first full season as Head Coach, Mike Mulvey led the Roar to its second Hyundai A-League Premier's Plater, winning the league by 10 points, but the Roar secured a historic third Championship, coming from behind yet again in a Grand Final on May 4 against the Western Sydney Wanderers.

The Roar Women weren't as lucky  having also made the decider, going down 2-0 against the Victory.

The 2014/15 season saw the Roar finish in sixth position before being knocked out by Adelaide United in the first week of finals.

The club competed in the FFA Cup for the first time defeating Stirling Lions 4-0 in their opening match before going out at the hands of the Reds in the Round of 16. The Roar also claimed their first AFC Champions League victories defeating, Urawa Reds & Beijing Guoan although these wins were ultimately not enough to seal progression from the group stage with the Roar finishing third in Group G. The Club's Westfield W-League side missed out on finals football for the first time finishing in sixth placed.

Roar finished third in the 2015/16 season just a point shy of top spot following a gripping final few rounds.

Despite leading the Preliminary Final against the Wanderers 3-0, the Roar were knocked out a game shy of the Grand Final in a pulsating clash that finished 5-4 in favour of Western Sydney after extra-time.

The Roar Women's season was once again ended by Melbourne Victory, this time in the first week of finals.

The Roar again came within one match of the Grand Final in 2016/17, before suffering a similar fate at the hands of the Victory in a narrow loss at AAMI Park. The Club would also record one of its finest wins ever, and arguably its best on the continental stage.

In January 2017, a 2-1 win over Shanghai Shenhua side containing Carlos Tevez, who was the highest paid player in the world at the time, secured their path to another AFC Champions League Group Stage appearance.

The Roar would qualify for an eighth straight Hyundai A-League finals appearance in 2018, but it was the Roar Women who secured the only piece of silverware for the season. 

They secured the Roar's third Premiers Plate before exiting the finals in the first round 2-0 against Melbourne City.

Mel Andreatta's side would again earn a home semi-final during the 2018/19 season, finishing second behind the Victory, but suffered a similar defeat, this time at the hands of Sydney FC at Dolphin Stadium.