We have no fear: Andreatta

Brisbane Roar Women will put aside the distractions of a blockbuster final round of Westfield W-League and simply focus on taking three points against Canberra United.

A win or draw on Sunday would see the Roar secure a record-equalling third Westfield W-League Premiership in front of an expected bumper crowd at Suncorp Stadium.

Grab your tickets to our final home game of the Westfield W-League regular season HERE.

Undefeated in five matches, Head Coach Mel Andreatta says her side are focused on nothing else besides taking winning form into the post-season.

“A big part of what we achieved this year is being able to confront reality and being open to it. We have no fear and are just focused on ourselves,” Andreatta said.

“We are aware of the situation, but we won’t be focusing on it, we’ll be going out to win the game.

“We’re in control of our destiny. I’m certainly not worried about any other game – our focus is on us so we can head into the finals on the back of a strong performance.”


A dangerous task awaits the Roar against Canberra United, who will know by the time Sunday’s fixture kicks off just what needs to happen to secure their own spot in the top four.

Brisbane has the upper hand over Canberra in Westfield W-League season 10 after winning the only meeting at McKellar Park back in Round 6.

Former Canberra star Hayley Raso will be looking to add to her season tally of three goals against her former side, but is ready for a fight.

“They’re fighting for a spot in the finals and we have something to play for as well so it’s going to be a tough one,” Raso said.

The Roar will take a full-strength side into the contest with both potent attacker Tameka Butt and key defender Summer O’Brien named to make their returns.

“We have the advantage in that we have consistency in the squad we pick. That’s why we see, even if we go down a goal now, we believe in what we’re doing and we can come back,” Andreatta said.

“We’re expecting a fast, aggressive and chaotic game. They’re chasing a finals sport but we’ll be ready for whatever they throw at us.”



Westfield W-League Round 14: Brisbane Roar v Canberra United
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Sunday, 4 February (3:30pm KO)

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk), 2.Carson PICKETT, 3.Amy CHAPMAN, 4.Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 6.Celeste BOUREILLE, 7.Ayesha NORRIE, 8.Kaitlyn TORPEY, 9.Wai Ki CHEUNG, 10.Katrina GORRY, 11.Natalie TATHEM, 12.Allira TOBY, 13.Tameka BUTT, 14.Summer O’BRIEN, 15.Abbey LLOYD, 16.Hayley RASO, 17.Emily GIELNIK, 20.Georgina WORTH (gk)

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 13.Tameka BUTT (promoted), 14.Summer O’BRIEN (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: Nil

Roar Women

Canberra United squad: 1.Haley KOPMEYER (gk), 4.Toni PRESSLEY, 6.Caitlin MUNOZ, 7.Nickoletta FLANNERY, 8.Liana DANASKOS, 10.Grace MAHER, 11.Elise THORSNES, 14.Ashleigh SYKES, 16.Karly ROESTBAKKEN,19. Aoife COLVILL, 20.Amy SAYER, 21.Ellie CARPENTER, 23.Michelle HEYMAN, 34.Laura BASSETT, 36.Georgia BORIC (gk)

Ins: 16.Karly ROESTBAKKEN (promoted), 19. Aoife COLVILL (promoted)

Outs: 3. Clare HUNT (Knee), 18. Taren KING (Not selected)

Unavailable: Nil