Roar win five-goal thriller

Brisbane Roar have secured their first Hyundai A-League win of 2018 in a five-goal thriller against Perth Glory at Suncorp Stadium on Thursday night.

Three different players found themselves on the scoresheet for the home side as the Roar climbed up to seventh on the Hyundai A-League ladder.

Avram Papadopoulos opened the scoring in just the fourth minute with his fourth goal of the Hyundai A-League season, beating Glory keeper Liam Reddy from point-blank range.

Chris Harold levelled for the visitors seven minutes later, and despite carving the better chances throughout the remainder of the opening stanza, Brisbane didn't find a second goal until after the break.

That second goal came from the head of fan-favourite Ivan Franjic, who sent the Brisbane faithful into raptures with his first goal in the Roar orange at Suncorp Stadium since February 2014.

The home side again only managed to hold the lead for a matter of minutes as Harold equalised once more eight minutes later.

Brisbane had the final say as Brett Holman's 73rd-minute strike proved to be decisive in the 63-time Socceroo's first Hyundai A-League appearance since Round 8.

"It was great to be back on the pitch and get through the game, but it's a big, big three points for us," Holman said.

"Today we showed just what this side can do, and even in our fight at the end - that's what Brisbane Roar is known for." 

Fahid Ben Khalfallah was named as Man of the Match for a tireless performance in midfield. 

The win is Brisbane's fourth of season 2017/18 and first since Round 14, with the Roar looking now to take momentum into a busy fixture schedule.

The Roar do battle against Filipino outfit Ceres-Negros in an AFC Champions League Preliminary Round 2 clash at QSAC Stadium on Tuesday (7pm KO) before travelling south to face the Mariners next Saturday.

Get your tickets to Tuesday night's clash at QSAC Stadium HERE.


  • Brisbane controlled the first-half and had the better of the opportunities, but were level with the Glory at the break after Chris Harold's strike cancelled-out Avram Papadopoulos' opener.
  • Brett Holman was brought onto the pitch partway through the second half for his first Hyundai A-League minutes since Round 8 before scoring his second goal of the campaign in the 73rd minute.
  • Massimo Maccarone was unlucky to not get his name on the scoresheet, turning a defender inside out before thundering a strike against the crossbar.
  • Brisbane's win sees them jump to seventh place, just three points behind the sixth-placed Wanderers.


Brisbane Roar – Papadopoulos 4’; 1-0
An early set-piece for the Roar pays dividends as Fahid Ben Khalfallah’s cross is flicked off the head of Jeremy Walker to Avram Papadopolous. The Greek international makes no mistake as he converts from point-blank range.

Perth Glory – Harold 12’; 1-1
A clever ball from Diego Castro finds Chris Harold and the midfielder rounds Connor O’Toole before surging into the penalty box, confidently finishing past Jamie Young to draw the visitors level.

Brisbane Roar – Franjic 59’; 2-1
Ivan Franjic puts the home side in the lead again, as he connects with Ben Khalfallah’s pin-point cross, heading past Liam Reddy for his second goal of the season in front of the Den.

Perth Glory – Harold 68’; 2-2
A second goal for Chris Harold sees the visitors equalise as he connects with Keogh's pass before slotting a shot past Young.  

Brisbane Roar – Holman 73’; 3-2
Great buildup play from the home side as Brett Holman ghosts into the box and links up with Massimo Maccarone before sliding a shot home past Reddy for the winner.


Hyundai A-League Round 17: Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory
Suncorp Stadium
Thursday, 18 January

Brisbane Roar 3 (Papadopoulos 4', Franjic 59', Holman 73')

Perth Glory 2 (Harold 12', 68')

Half-time: 1-1