Roar score win in Canberra

Brisbane Roar have notched up their fifth win of the Westfield W-League season, beating Canberra United 2-1 in a hard-fought encounter at McKellar Park.

Brisbane Roar have notched up their fifth win of the Westfield W-League season, beating Canberra United 2-1 in a hard-fought encounter at McKellar Park.

Joanne Burgess opened the scoring for the away side, before Cian Maciejewski equalised for Canberra just before the hour mark.

However, Elise Kellond-Knight, in her second consecutive Westfield Player of the Match performance, ensured the three points were coming home to Brisbane after an impressive long-range effort 15 minutes before full time.

The Roar took the lead in the fifth minute when hardworking midfielder Joanne Burgess launched a high ball from outside the box, looping it over Lydia Williams in the Canberra goal.

United almost had an instant equaliser when Ashleigh Sykes found herself one-on-one with Roar custodian Casey Dumont, but the 17-year-old was quick to react and smother the shot.

The Roar kept looking for a second goal to strengthen their position in the match with Aivi Luik and Clare Polkinghorne going close.

Despite the pressure it was Canberra who had the best chance for a goal before the break through a powerful shot from Ashleigh Sykes and follow-up from Chinese import Shu O Tseng but Dumont was up to the challenge of keeping the home side scoreless.

Both sides came out firing in the second stanza but it was the home side that managed to find the back of the net first, levelling the scores at 1-1 through Maciejewski in the 58th minute.

The lively Nicole Sykes put in a curving ball from the right, and despite Roar skipper Polkinghorne outmuscling O Tseng in the six yard box, the deflection landed at the feet of Maciejewski who calmly slotted past Dumont, only the second goal she has conceded all season.

This forced substitutions from Roar coach Jeff Hopkins, who replaced Courtney Beutel with Sasha McDonnell and Pam Bignold with Tameka Butt, meaning a slight reshuffling in the team.

Ellen Beaumont, showing her versatility, slotted comfortably into the back four.

The changes seemed to work well for the Roar with Butt especially enjoying freedom in the midfield and showing no signs of discomfort after missing last week-s win over Perth with a hamstring injury.

Just when it looked like the encounter was heading for a draw, Kellond-Knight, after a short run towards the box, hit a remarkable curving ball with her right foot that sailed right into the top corner of the goal.

Canberra kept pushing, with Ellie Brush - who passed a late fitness test to play in the game - going close with two glancing headers before full time, but it was the Roar that held on to take the three points.

Roar coach Jeff Hopkins admitted post-match his side were slightly lucky to get the win.

“We pushed hard in the second half, Canberra put us under pressure and the game could-ve gone either way,” Hopkins said.

“A draw probably would have been a fair result.”

Hopkins didn-t, however, take anything away from his team.

“Our girls always seem to find that other level and I-m pleased we came away with the win”.

Canberra United 1 (Cian Maciejawski 58-) Brisbane Roar 2 (Joanne Burgess 5-, Elise Kellond-Knight 73-)

Canberra United: 1. Lydia WILLIAMS (gk), 2 Rebecca KITING, 3. Bronwyn STUDMAN, 7. Ellie BRUSH (6. Ellie RAYMOND 90-), 9. Grace GILL (5. Kahlia HOGG 59-), 10. Shu O TSENG, 11. Cian MACIEJEWSKI, 12. Snez VELJANOVSKA, 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 15. Nicole SYKES, 19. Jennifer BISSETT (22. Lucy ALLAN 62-)

Substitutes Not Used: 20. Jocelyn MARA (gk),

Yellow Cards: None

Red Cards: None

Brisbane Roar: 1. Casey DUMONT (gk), 2. Kate McSHEA, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE, 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Joanne BURGESS, 7. Pam BIGNOLD (13. Tameka BUTT 64-), 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 10. Lana HARCH (12. Stephanie LATHAM 84-), 11. Aivi LUIK, 18. Courtney BEUTEL (14. Sasha McDONNELL 64-), 19. Ellen BEAUMONT

Substitutes Not Used: 20. Kate STEWART (gk).

Yellow Cards: Sasha McDONNELL 78-, Tameka BUTT 89-

Red Cards: None

Referee: Pru DONOHUE

Bookmark and Share