Roar run ended by Perth

Brisbane Roar’s five-match unbeaten run has come to an end with a 4-2 defeat at the hands of Perth Glory in round seven of the Hyundai A-League at Suncorp Stadium.

Brisbane Roar-s five-match unbeaten run has come to an end with a 4-2 defeat at the hands of Perth Glory in round seven of the Hyundai A-League at Suncorp Stadium.

Despite chasing the game from the first minute, the Roar showed plenty of character to fight their way back into the match on two occasions but couldn-t quite catch the Glory who were able to secure just their second win ever against the Queenslanders.

Perth, without a win against the Roar in the past 11 encounters, were gifted an immediate headstart when Josh McCloughan put the ball into his own net inside the opening 45 seconds.

An inswinging cross from Mile Sterjovski needed clearing from McCloughan, but the big defender, under heavy pressure from Jamie Harnwell, was unable to get a clean connection on the ball and it sliced off his head into the far corner of the net.

Sergio van Dijk came close to an equaliser five minutes later, driving a long range free kick under the defensive wall and forcing a smart save from Aleks Vrteski.

On the quarter-hour mark things almost got worse for Brisbane when Branko Jelic broke the offside trap just inside the opposition half and beat Liam Reddy to the ball, but Ivan Franjic was back quickly to clear the shot off the line.

Five minutes later Vrteski had more work to do to keep David Dodd-s shot out, after some neat one-touch football and a clever backheel from Charlie Miller to set up his fellow midfielder.

The home team began to take the game to the Glory, with Miller turning several of the Perth players inside out on 30 minutes before driving his shot over the bar.

However Brisbane went further behind four minutes from the interval when Wayne Srhoj stole the ball from Bob Malcolm and played a wall pass with Jamie Harnwell before chipping over the onrushing Reddy.

Brisbane came out from the break in a determined mood and five minutes into the second period Henrique halved the deficit with a great individual goal.

The dynamic Brazilian collected a quick free kick from Reinaldo and fooled Andy Todd and Naum Sekulovski before sliding the ball inside the near post with his left foot.

But just as the Roar were pushing for an equaliser they copped a sucker punch, when a corner to the back post fell to Sterjovski, who squared across the face of goal for Jelic to tap home on 61 minutes.

Just two minutes later the home team came straight back again through van Dijk.

An almighty scramble in the Perth penalty area saw Miller denied by Vrteski and a Reinaldo header cleared off the line, before van Dijk took control of the ball with a delicate touch and powered a low shot into the net via a slight deflection.

It wasn-t to be, however, with the Glory restoring their two-goal cushion through a bizarre cross-cum-shot from Pellegrino.

Roar coach Frank Farina was disappointed with the result but said the team would need to put the mistakes behind them and focus on next week-s home match against Sydney.

“We most probably gifted Perth at least two goals,” Farina said. “Every time we got ourselves back into the game, we tended to shoot ourselves in the foot again.

“Our biggest disappointment tonight is losing at home but we move on. There-s another big game next week and we-ll try to get three points then.”

Brisbane Roar 2 (Henrique 50-, Sergio van Dijk 64-) Perth Glory 4 (Mile Sterjovski 1-, Wayne Srhoj 41-, Branko Jelic 61-, Adriano Pellegrino 75-)

Brisbane Roar: 1. Liam Reddy (gk), 4. Craig Moore (c), 5. Josh McCloughan, 6. David Dodd, 9. Sergio van Dijk, 10. Charlie Miller, 11. Reinaldo (19. Isaka Cernak 79-),13. Henrique, 16. Bob Malcolm (14. Adam Sarota 63-), 27. Ivan Franjic, 28. Calum O-Connell (23. Tim Smits 87-).

Unused substitutes: 20. Griffin McMaster (gk).

Yellow cards: Henrique 42-, David Dodd 74-.

Red cards: nil.

Perth Glory: 20. Aleks Vrteski (gk), 3. Jamie Coyne, 4. Andy Todd, 5. Jamie Harnwell (8. Victor Sikora 59-), 6. Chris Coyne, 7. Jacob Burns (c), 10. Wayne Srhoj, 11. Branko Jelic (17. Todd Howarth), 16. Adriano Pellegrino (12. Scott Neville 85-), 19. Naum Sekulovski, 21. Mile Sterjovski. Unused substitutes: 30. Alex Pearson (gk).

Yellow cards: Jacob Burns 15-, Wayne Srhoj 67-, Andy Todd 90+2-.

Red cards: nil.

Referee: Chris Beath.

Crowd: 7367 at Suncorp Stadium.