Roar open new season against Wanderers

Brisbane Roar are away to 2014 Grand Final opponents Western Sydney Wanderers FC in the opening game of the 11th season of the Hyundai A-League on Thursday, 8 October 2015 (8pm kick off).

The Roar’s first home game is against Central Coast at Suncorp Stadium on Sunday, 18 October 2015 (4pm kick off, Brisbane time) in the draw for the 2015/16 season released today.

An away match against Wellington Phoenix (Saturday, 24 October 2015) and a home game against Adelaide United (Saturday, 31 October) follow in a start that shields the Roar from last season’s Grand Finalists for the first month of the new season.

The Roar are drawn to play traditional rivals Sydney FC on Friday, 6 November (away), Saturday, 30 January 2016 (away) and Saturday, 26 March, 2016 (home).

They don’t take on the 2015 Champions and 2014/15 Premiers Plate Winners Melbourne Victory until the second half of the season.

The Roar and Victory meet on Friday, 15 January 2016 (away), Saturday, 12 March 2016 (home) and in the final round of the regular season on Saturday, 9 April 2016 (away – subject to the scheduling of the Victory’s AFC Asian Champions League fixtures).

For a print-out version the Roar's 2015/16 draw click here

“It’s an exciting draw for the Roar and we will be using the next couple of months of pre-season to be as best prepared as we can on opening day,” said Roar’s new Head Coach John Aloisi.  

The Roar will host two games over the Christmas-New Year holiday period.

They meet Melbourne City FC at Suncorp Stadium two days after Christmas on Sunday, 27 December 2015 (6pm kick off) and  are back there again on Saturday, 2 January 2016 to host Perth Glory (4.15pm kick off).

Brisbane Roar and Wellington Phoenix will clash in an historic first Hyundai A-League fixture in Cairns on Saturday, 12 December 2015.

Kick off at Cazaly’s Stadium will be at 4.15pm with the match to be televised nationally by Fox Sports.

Roar officials said the decision play in Cairns was made after consultation with club members following advice from Suncorp Stadium that the venue was booked for a concert on that weekend.


The Roar will feature in Match of the Round at least five times – against Adelaide United (Round 4), Western Sydney Wanderers  (Round 9), Melbourne Victory (Rounds 23 and 27) and Sydney FC  (Round 25).

Unlike last season, the club has no midweek fixtures and will feature in at least one home match in the new Sunday 6pm timeslot (Round 12, 27 December 2015 versus Melbourne City FC)

The Hyundai A-League 2016 Grand Final will played on Sunday, 1 May 2016.

The full Hyundai A-League draw for Brisbane Roar in season 2015/16 (times are local) is:

Rd1: Thursday, 8 October 2015 v Western Sydney Wanderers FC (Pirtek Stadium, 8pm)

Rd2:  Sunday, 18 October 2015 v Central Coast Mariners (Suncorp Stadium, 4pm)

Rd3: Saturday, 24 October 2015 v Wellington Phoenix (Westpac Stadium, 7.15pm)

Rd4: Saturday, 31 October 2015 v Adelaide United (Suncorp Stadium Home, 6:30pm)

Rd5: Friday, 6 November 2015 v Sydney FC (Allianz Stadium, 7.40pm)

Rd6: Sunday, 15 November 2015 v Perth Glory (Suncorp Stadium, 4pm)

Rd7: Friday, 20 November 2015 v Melbourne City FC (Suncorp Stadium, 7pm)

Rd8: Saturday, 28 November 2015 v Newcastle Jets (Hunter Stadium, 5.15pm)

Rd9: Saturday, 5 December 2015 v Western Sydney Wanderers FC (Pirtek Stadium, 7.30pm)

Rd10: Saturday, 12 December 2015 v Wellington Phoenix (Cazaly's Stadium, Cairns, 4.15pm)

Rd11: Sunday, 20 December 2015 v Central Coast Mariners (Central Coast Stadium, 5pm)

Rd12: Sunday, 27 December 2015 v Melbourne City FC (Suncorp Stadium, 6pm)

Rd13: Saturday, 2 January 2016 v Perth Glory (Suncorp Stadium, 4.15pm)

Rd14: Sunday, 10 January 2016 v Wellington Phoenix (Westpac Stadium, 7pm)

Rd15: Friday, 15 January 2016 v Melbourne Victory (AAMI Park 7.40pm)

Rd16: Friday, 22 January 2016 v Adelaide United (Suncorp Stadium, 7pm)

Rd17: Saturday, 30 January 2016 v Sydney FC (Allianz Stadium, 7.30pm)

Rd18: Saturday, 6 February 2016 v Central Coast Mariners (Suncorp Stadium, 4.15pm)

Rd19: Friday, 12 February 2016 v Newcastle Jets (Suncorp Stadium, 7pm)

Rd20: Saturday, 20 February 2016 v Perth Glory (nib Stadium, 6.40pm)

Rd21: Saturday, 27 February 2016 v Adelaide United (Coopers Stadium, 5.15pm)

Rd22: Friday, 4 March 2016 v Western Sydney Wanderers FC (Suncorp Stadium, 7pm)

Rd23: Saturday, 12 March 2016 v Melbourne Victory (Suncorp Stadium, 6.30pm)

Rd24: Friday, 18 March 2016 v Melbourne City FC (AAMI Park, 7.40pm)

Rd25: Saturday, 26 March 2016 v Sydney FC (Suncorp Stadium, 6.30pm)

Rd26: Sunday, 3 April 2016 v Newcastle Jets (Suncorp Stadium, 5pm)

Rd27: Saturday, 9 April 2016 v Melbourne Victory (AAMI Park, 7.30pm)