Roar held by Victory

Brisbane Roar have stretched their unbeaten run in the Westfield W-League to seventeen matches drawing 1-1 with a very competitive Melbourne Victory outfit at Ballymore Stadium.

Brisbane Roar have stretched their unbeaten run in the Westfield W-League to seventeen matches drawing 1-1 with a very competitive Melbourne Victory outfit at Ballymore Stadium.

Roar skipper Clare Polkinghorne opened the scoring just after the break but Queenslander Kara Mowbray equalised for the Victory side just two minutes from time.

With the earlier matches in the Westfield W-League seeing second-placed Central Coast Mariners and third-placed Sydney FC both claim victories, Melbourne were keen to get a result to stay in the top four.

However it was the home side made their intentions known early when Tameka Butt, in her return to the starting eleven, played a quick one-two with Joanne Burgess and put a dangerous cross into the Melbourne six yard box, but the ball was easily caught Melbourne shot-stopper Melissa Barbieri.

The first real chance for either team came in the 26th minute, when the lively Butt beat the Victory defenders and played the ball wide to Courtney Beutel.

The striker chose to unselfishly play the ball back across to her teammate but Victory-s Maika Ruyter-Hooley was there to clear the ball to safety.

In the 38th minute, a deflection off Elise Kellond-Knight-s long range shot fell to the feet of Burgess whose thunderbolt attempt was pushed wide of the goal by Barbieri.

Just a minute later and the Roar had another chance to take the lead but another quick reaction from Barbieri kept the game scoreless.

Kellond-Knight curved a telling cross into the box, which was headed back by Lauren Colthorpe but Beutel failed to get enough contact with the ball and Barbieri cleaned up the pieces.

After a goalless first half, the Roar were keen to made amends and did exactly that just four minutes in.

A free-kick from defender Kate McShea connected perfectly with the head of skipper Clare Polkinghorne who sent the ball sailing over the outcoming Barbieri and brought the 1473-strong Ballymore crowd to their feet.

Both sides continued to fight for possession, and Melbourne almost had an equaliser when a through ball from the Victory-s US import Julianne Sitch found the feet of Katie Thorlakson but McShea and Dumont were quick to defend their goal line.

Melbourne-s perseverance paid off two minutes from time when former Queensland Lions player Kara Mowbray hit a late equaliser, slotting home after a scramble in the goalmouth.

Defender Kate McShea said despite dropping two points, her side were pleased to take any from such a physical encounter.

“We would have been happy with a win but to go away with a point is pretty good,” McShea said.

“It was a bit of a lapse of concentration there but hats off to Melbourne, they were perservering right until the end there, pushing bodies forwards and creating chances for themselves.”

Brisbane Roar 1 (Clare POLKINGHORNE 49-) Melbourne Victory 1 (Kara MOWBRAY 88-) Saturday, 14 November 2009 Ballymore Stadium, Brisbane Referee: Casey Reibelt

Brisbane Roar Line-up: 1. Casey DUMONT (gk), 2. Kate MCSHEA, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5. Brooke SPENCE (14.Sasha MCDONNELL 84-), 6. Joanne BURGESS, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 11. Aivi LUIK, 13. Tameka BUTT, 16. Lauren COLTHORPE 18. Courtney BEUTEL (10.Lana HARCH 75-), 19. Ellen BEAUMONT (3. Karla REUTER 75-)

Substitutes Not Used: 20. Kate STEWART (gk)

Yellow Cards: Kate MCSHEA 90-

Red Cards: Nil

Melbourne Victory Line-up: 1. Melissa BARBIERI (gk) (c), 2. Vedrana POPOVIC (16. Gulcan KOCA 80-), 3. Marlies OOSTDAM, 4. Tal KARP, 5. Laura ALLEWAY, 6. Maika RUYTER-HOOLEY, 8. Katie THORLAKSON (10. Deanna NICESKI 69-), 11. Julianne SITCH, 12. Monnique HANSEN KOFOED, 14. Selin KURALAY (18. Ursula HUGHSON 74-), 21. Kara MOWBRAY

Substitutes Not Used: 20. Nicole PAUL (gk)

Yellow Cards: Julianne SITCH 89-

Red Cards: Nil

Bookmark and Share