Roar ready for Sky Blues test

Brisbane Roar head into tomorrow night’s clash with Sydney FC confident that they have what it takes to topple the defending Hyundai A-League champions.

The Roar will be looking to record back-to-back victories for the first time this season after last round’s impressive win against Melbourne City.

That result provided a strong confidence boost for John Aloisi’s side and the Head Coach says his squad can’t wait to take the pitch at Allianz Stadium.

“The group look sharp, are raring to go and can’t wait to play Sydney tomorrow night,” Aloisi said.

“We know what Sydney FC are like, they’ll be ready for the game. We just have to focus on playing our game, and if we do that, we believe we can win.”

Fan favourite Ivan Franjic returns to the matchday squad for the first time since re-joining the Roar earlier this month as does New Zealand international Dane Ingham.

The duo provides a boost to the Roar squad with both players capable of playing in a variety of roles in a game that could stretch Brisbane’s unbeaten streak to five matches.

“We’re focusing on keeping this run going. We’re four games unbeaten and we believe that we will keep on improving, picking up results and moving up the ladder,” Aloisi added.

“We knew that we needed to win that game [last round against Melbourne City] so it was great to do so and it gave the boys a boost. They still believe in what we’re doing and they also believe we can climb the ladder quickly.”

Despite the Sky Blues entering the clash on the back of Tuesday night’s Westfield FFA Cup clash, Aloisi is ready for a stern test from the 11 players that take the pitch for the hosts.

“It doesn’t matter who starts for them, they will be a difficult team to play against. We enjoy playing against them and we believe we can beat them if we play well,” Aloisi said.

Roar team


Hyundai A-League 2017/18: Round 8 - Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar FC
Allianz Stadium
Saturday, 25 November (6:50pm KO QLD time)


1.Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 4.Alex WILKINSON, 5.Jordy BUIJS, 6.Josh BRILLANTE, 7.Michael ZULLO, 8.Paulo RETRE, 9.BOBÔ, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 11.Adrian MIERZEJEWSKI, 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 14.Alex BROSQUE (c), 16.Anthony KALIK, 17.David CARNEY, 18.Matt SIMON, 21.Charles LOKOLINGOY, 22.Seb RYALL, 26.Luke WILKSHIRE, 30.Tom HEWARD-BELLE (gk) **two to be omitted**

Ins: 18.Matt SIMON (promoted), 26.Luke WILKSHIRE (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 23.Rhyan GRANT (knee – indefinite)


2.Dane INGHAM, 6.Avram PAPADOPOULOS, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Massimo MACCARONE, 10.Brett HOLMAN, 14.Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH, 16.Mitchell OXBORROW, 17.Matt MCKAY (c), 18.Joe CALETTI, 19.Jack HINGERT, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Eric BAUTHEAC, 24.Connor O’TOOLE, 26.Nick D’AGOSTINO, 31.Brendan WHITE (gk), 33.Petros SKAPETIS, 34.Aaron REARDON, 77.Ivan FRANJIC **two to be omitted**

Ins: 2.Dane INGHAM (returns from international duty), 77.Ivan FRANJIC (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 1.Michael THEO (gk) (finger – 2-3 weeks), 3.Luke DEVERE (knee – 10 weeks), 4.Daniel BOWLES (knee – TBC), 5.Corey BROWN (hamstring – 2 weeks), 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN (hamstring – TBC), 13.Jade NORTH (groin – 1 week), 20.Shannon BRADY (broken foot – TBC)