MAJOR ANNOUNCEMENT: Ivan Franjic returns to Brisbane

Brisbane Roar is excited to announce the signing of triple Championship-winning defender Ivan Franjic for the Hyundai A-League 2017/18 season.

The Australian international was an integral member of Brisbane's squad between 2009 and 2014, winning three Hyundai A-League Championships and two Premierships.

Head Coach John Aloisi says the versatile fullback, known for both his defensive capabilities as well as a keen eye for goal, is a tremendous addition to his squad.

“We are thrilled to welcome Ivan back to Brisbane Roar Football Club,” Aloisi said.

“In the past he played a key role in bringing success to our Club and we believe he will be fantastic for our talented squad.

“We are signing an experienced versatile footballer, who has played at the highest level for both club and country and will help lead the group.”

Between 2009 and 2014, Franjic made 115 appearances for Brisbane Roar and earned his international debut during that time. 

He has since gone on to represent Australia 20 times, featuring at both the 2014 FIFA World Cup and 2015 AFC Asian Cup and is excited to once again be wearing the Brisbane orange.

“I have a lot of special memories in Brisbane and to come back and have these fans support me again is special,” Franjic said.

Ivan Franjic

“My Dad is a huge Brisbane Roar supporter so he was very happy to hear the news. I’m a player that wants to win and nothing less than that is on the cards for me.

“Brisbane is where I started and I think it’s a good time to come back after playing abroad. I still believe I have a lot to learn in football, and with the experience in this squad and the coaching staff, I believe I can do that.

“I’ve been watching the games, and the boys have shown great character. That’s always a special trait the team has had – we never give up. 

Roar's new recruit most recently played for South Korean club Daegu FC and fellow Hyundai A-League side Melbourne City.

Brisbane Roar FC Hyundai A-League 2017/18 Squad

Goalkeepers: Michael Theo, Brendan White, Jamie Young

Defenders: Daniel Bowles, Corey Brown, Luke DeVere, Ivan Franjic, Jack Hingert, Jade North, Connor O’Toole, Avram Papadopoulos

Midfielders: Joe Caletti, Brett Holman, Thomas Kristensen, Matt McKay (c), Mitchell Oxborrow, Jacob Pepper

Attackers: Eric Bautheac, Shannon Brady, Nick D’Agostino, Corey Gameiro, Fahid Ben Khalfallah, Massimo Maccarone, Petros Skapetis

Scholarship players: Jay Barnett, Bryce Bafford, Dane Ingham, Emilio Martinez