Dadi double dents Brisbane

Brisbane Roar succumbed to its second successive road defeat going down 3-1 to Wellington Phoenix at Westpac Stadium.

Brisbane Roar succumbed to its second successive road defeat going down 3-1 to Wellington Phoenix at Westpac Stadium.

Matt McKay was installed as captain in his 100th Hyundai A-League match by coach Ange Postecoglou following the departure of Craig Moore to Greece during the week.

The Roar started nervously, before settling down to control the early possession.

Both Brisbane-s strikers were involved in the early play with Sergio van Dijk recording the first opportunity of the match in the fourth minute, but his right-foot shot was comfortably saved by former Roar custodian Liam Reddy.

Vince Lia had current Brisbane gloveman Griffin McMaster checking his angles a short time later, with a shot that flew just past the Brisbane goal.

Reddy had to be on his toes again when a breaking Reinaldo slipped a ball to van Dijk in the box but Reddy kept the angled shot out.

Roar were pushing forward in numbers and Reinaldo was the next to threaten when he was put through on goal by Adam Sarota, but as with van Dijk-s effort Reddy made the save.

The home side then took the lead against the run of play in the 26th minute when Tim Brown nodded home a Manny Muscat cross inside the six-yard box.

The goal sparked the Phoenix and they pushed forward looking for a second immediately.

Brisbane-s defence was under extreme pressure but some desperate defending kept Wellington at bay.

The Roar-s defensive resolve was illustrated by Josh McCloughan with a perfectly timed tackle in the box on Eugene Dadi when the Wellington striker seemed destined to score.

Paul Ifill then blasted over the bar after bundling Luke DeVere off the ball in the Brisbane penalty area a minute later.

The Roar began to claw back possession and with three minutes left in the half Sarota unloaded from the edge of the box and Reddy tipped the ball over the bar.

The second half started as a stalemate, with neither side able to string together decisive passes in order to work an opportunity for their respective strikers.

However, Brisbane were undone 10 minutes after the restart by a contender for goal of the season when Dadi - making his debut for Wellington - performed a perfectly executed bicycle kick on the penalty spot to double the host-s lead.

Reinaldo very nearly pulled one back for Brisbane four minutes later when he got a toe to an in-swinging Tommy Oar cross, but the ball flew just over the bar.

Wellington were next to score though, Dadi grabbing his second when presented with the ball on the edge of the six-yard box by a clever Paul Ifill cutback.

McKay looked to get his team back on track on 71 minutes with a run through the heart of the Wellington defence and despite being found by an Ivan Franjic cross, Reddy managed to just push his shot past the post.

Brown butchered an opportunity on 77 minutes when he was slipped in by the rampant Dadi, blasting his shot over the bar with only McMaster to beat.

Brisbane pushed hard from that moment on but found it difficult to break through one of the league-s meanest defences.

Finally the away side got some reward for their efforts with two minutes left on the clock when van Dijk slipped the ball inside the post from the edge of the box.

Postecoglou was philosophical following the defeat, lamenting missed opportunities - particularly in the first half.

“I felt we created enough good opportunities to win the match,” Postecoglou said. “We just let ourselves down defensively again.

“If you have a look at our whole season we-ve leaked goals at the worst time and we-ve done that again tonight.

“How do we fix that? We work harder and that-s exactly what we-ll be doing this week.”

Wellington Phoenix 3 (Tim Brown 26-, Eugene Dadi 55-, 62-) Brisbane Roar 1 (Sergio van Dijk 88-) Saturday, 9 January 2010 Westpac Stadium, Wellington Referee: Peter O-Leary Crowd: 8125

Wellington Phoenix line-up: 40. Liam REDDY (GK), 2. Manny MUSCAT, 3. Tony LOCHHEAD, 4. Jon McKAIN, 6. Tim BROWN, 7. Leo BERTOS, 8. Paul IFILL (14. Adrian CACERES 77-), 13. Troy HEARFIELD, 15. Eugene DADI, 17. Vince LIA (5. Diego WALSH 81-), 22. Andrew DURANTE (capt).

Substitutes not used: 18. Ben SIGMUND, 20. Reece CROWTHER (GK).

Yellow cards: Troy Hearfield (68-), Liam Reddy (89-)

Red cards: Nil

Brisbane Roar line-up: 20.Griffin McMASTER (gk), 3.Luke DEVERE, 5.Josh McCLOUGHAN 7. Michael ZULLO, 8. Massimo MURDOCCA (6. David DODD 80-), 9. Sergio VAN DIJK, 11. REINALDO, 14. Adam SAROTA (19. Isaka CERNAK 64-), 15. Matt McKAY (capt), 21. Tommy Oar (12. Matt MUNDY 66-), 22. Ivan FRANJIC.

Substitutes not used: 1. Matt HAM (GK).

Yellow Cards: Reinaldo (89-)

Red Cards: Nil