BRFC squad update

Hyundai A-League season 2017/18 has only just drawn to a close, but we've jumped onto the front foot in our preparations for next campaign.

Following the conclusion of our campaign in an Elimination Final against Melbourne City just a fortnight ago, we have made a new of key aquisitions and re-signings as we build a squad for a tilt at a fourth Championship next season.

Arguably the biggest acquisition for the Roar so far this off-season is seven-time Socceroo and former Hyundai A-League Young Player of the Year Adam Taggart.

The 2013/14 Golden Boot winner signed on with the Roar from Perth Glory following 20 goals in 38 appearances in his second stint at the Western Australian club.

Taggart has experience scoring at international level too with three goals from seven matches, and will look to pass some of his goal-scoring knowledge onto another acquired striker.


Record-breaking Western Pride youngster Dylan Wenzel-Halls last week signed his first professional contract with BRFC following an incredible 40 goals in 28 games for the NPL QLD club.

“Words can’t describe how happy I am to be back at arguably the most successful Club in Australia. To play for my hometown team is an outstanding opportunity,” Wenzel-Halls said following Friday's announcement.

A number of current players have also signed on for the coming campaign including captain Matt McKay, fan-favourite Henrique, Gary Wilkins Medal winner Jamie Young, defenders Connor O'Toole, Jack Hingert and Daniel Bowles as well as Jacob Pepper and Brendan White.

Club legend and recent Hall of Fame inductee Michael Theo, as well as vice-captain and championship-winner Jade North have both moved on following lengthy playing careers with BRFC.

Midfielder Fahid Ben Khalfallah also announced his retirement following our Elimination Final defeat.

Brisbane Roar have also parted ways with Golden Boot winner Massimo Maccarone, former Gary Wilkins Medalist Corey Brown, striker Corey Gameiro and midfielder Mitchell Oxborrow.

Current BRFC 2018/19 squad

Goalkeepers: Brendan WHITE, Jamie YOUNG

Defenders: Daniel BOWLES, Luke DEVERE, Jack HINGERT, Dane INGHAM, Connor O'TOOLE, Avram PAPADOPOULOS

Midfielders: Joe CALETTI, Brett HOLMAN, Thomas KRISTENSEN, Matt MCKAY, Jacob PEPPER