Bautheac returns for Monday night clash against Sky Blues

In-form goalkeeper Jamie Young is encouraging the Brisbane faithful to get to Suncorp Stadium and get behind the Roar in tomorrow night’s Hyundai A-League clash with defending champions Sydney FC.

Young was one of the Roar’s best in Friday night’s defeat against Western Sydney Wanderers, making a number of crucial saves in front of a crowd of almost 12,000.

Secure your tickets to our final home game of the Summer Football Festival with FREE entry for kids!

He has labelled Brisbane’s typically-passionate home support as the side’s 12th man and is hoping a strong crowd gets behind the home side tomorrow night.

“We love playing in front of a vocal home crowd. Hopefully our supporters can come out in droves again tomorrow night and we’ll put in a good performance,” Young said.

French attacker Eric Bautheac returns to the Roar squad for the first time since December's clash against the Phoenix, while Dane Ingham and Adam Sawyer have also both been promoted to the 18-man squad.



Brisbane will be searching for their first win of 2018 and face a tough challenge against the ladder-leading Sky Blues. John Aloisi's side will be buoyed by last season’s record against the Sky Blues.

Sydney ventured to Suncorp Stadium twice in their record-breaking campaign last season and left without three points on both occasions.

Young says the Roar hold the belief that they are capable of beating any side in the competition and will focus on playing their style of football.

“They [Sydney FC] are well-organised, don’t concede many and obviously have goals in them – that’s the formula you want in football. They’re a good team, but we’ll focus on ourselves and give them a good challenge,” Young said.

“Tomorrow night’s game is an important one for us so we have to be up for it.”


Hyundai A-League Round 15: Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC
Suncorp Stadium
Monday, 8 January (6:50pm KO)

Goalkeepers: 21.Jamie YOUNG, 31.Brendan WHITE

Defenders: 2.Dane INGHAM, 3.Luke DEVERE, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 5.Corey BROWN, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 19.Jack HINGERT

Midfielders: 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN, 14.Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH, 16.Mitchell OXBORROW, 27.Adam SAWYER

Attackers: 9.Massimo MACCARONE, 11.Corey GAMEIRO, 22.Eric BAUTHEAC, 25.Rahmat AKBARI, 33.Petros SKAPETIS, 36.Daniel LECK

Ins: 2.Dane INGHAM (promoted), 22.Eric BAUTHEAC (returns from injury), 27.Adam SAWYER (promoted)

Outs: 24.Connor O’TOOLE (concussion – 1 week)

Unavailable: 1.Michael THEO (gk) (finger – 2 weeks), 6.Avram PAPADOPOULOS (suspended – 1 match), 10.Brett HOLMAN (calf – 1 week), 13.Jade NORTH (groin – TBC), 17.Matt MCKAY (suspended – 1 match), 18.Joe CALETTI (foot – 10 weeks), 26.Nick D’AGOSTINO (ankle – 1-2 weeks), 77.Ivan FRANJIC (quad – 1-2 weeks)