About Us


Club History

On 2 March, 2005, then-named Queensland Roar FC was incorporated as a partnership.

As one of eight teams in the inaugural Hyundai A-League season, the club played its first ever match against the New Zealand Knights at Suncorp Stadium on 28 August, 2005, winning 2-0.

Following the introduction of two new Queensland teams in 2009, the club changed its name to Brisbane Roar FC. All home matches continue to be played at Suncorp Stadium, Queensland’s world-class stadium.

The cauldron-like design and proximity to the playing field ensures football fans will have the best view and atmosphere not ever experienced at a sporting event in Queensland before.

Squad training is conducted at Ballymore Stadium, Herston, where the club’s administration team is also based.

Brisbane Roar has played a key part in lifting the standard of the Hyundai A-League with an attractive, mobile brand of football that has become synonymous with the club, bringing Brisbane Roar a host of achievements in recent times.

The Roar celebrated the end of their successful 2010/11 season - in which they lost just once and finished eight points clear at the top of the competition ladder to claim the Premier's Plate - by producing one of Australia’s greatest ever sporting comebacks in the 2011 Hyundai A-League Grand Final.

After the scores were locked at 0-0 following 90 minutes against Central Coast Mariners on March 13, 2011, the match progressed to extra time. Brisbane conceded twice in quick succession and were facing a 2-0 defeat with just 17 minutes remaining on the clock.

But the players refused to give up and after clawing back one goal in the 116th minute, the Roar equalised with the final play of the game to force a penalty shootout which they eventually won 4-2.

Off-field, the club received a huge boost in October 2011, with Indonesian conglomerate the Bakrie Group purchasing a 70 per cent stake in the club, via the company’s sporting arm Pelita Jaya Cronus. This made the Bakrie Group the first foreign investors to hold a majority share in an Hyundai A-League club.

In February 2012, the Bakrie Group increased their ownership and now holds the full 100 per cent stake in the club. The purchase has been hailed as the first step in the globalisation of the competition and the club is proud to be at the forefront of the competition's growing stature within Asia.

The on-field success continued for Brisbane Roar in the 2011/12 season with the club creating Australian sporting history by breaking a 74-year old national record for the most consecutive matches undefeated by playing 36 Hyundai A-League fixtures without a loss.

The club also participated in the AFC Champions League, Asia’s premier competition, for the first time in early 2012 – competing against some of the region’s best teams in the group stage.

On April 22, 2012, Brisbane Roar became the first Hyundai A-League team to successfully defend their Championship by again displaying their ‘never-say-die’ attitude and scoring two late goals to defeat Perth Glory 2-1 at Suncorp Stadium.

In the Hyundai A-League 2013/14 season, Head Coach Mike Mulvey guided Brisbane Roar to the Premier's Plate (winning the league by 10 points) before the club secured a historic third Grand Final win on 4 May against Western Sydney Wanderers.

In November 2014, the club appointed former Dutch international Frans Thijssen as Interim Head Coach. He led the team for 27 games across all competitions for 11 wins and five draws - including the club's first two victories in the AFC Champions League and a place in the Hyundai A-League Elimination Final.

On 26 May, 2015, the club announced former Socceroo John Aloisi as its Head Coach.

Board and Management


Chairman - Rahim Soekasah
Director - Helmi Rahman
Managing Director - David Pourre
Football Director - Pedj Radinovic

Football Department

Head Coach - John Aloisi
Assistant Coach - Ross Aloisi
Goalkeeping Coach - Jason Kearton
Head of High Performance - Craig Duncan
Strength & Conditioning - Scott Smith
Football Manager - Danny Tiatto
Football Executive Assistant - Melissa Tunstall
Kit Manager - Brody Sams
Assistant Physiotherapist - Alex Downie
Performance Analyst - Jason Wickham
Youth Team Head Coach - James Robinson
Youth Team Assistant Coach - Chris Grossman
W-League Head Coach - Mel Andreatta
W-League Assistant Coach - Garrath McPherson
W-League Team Manager - Stephanie McPherson
Academy Director - Drew Sherman


Head of Corporate Affairs & Media - Shane Stefanutto
Events & Operations Manager - Nick Shirlaw
Events & Operations Coordinator - Jess Dillon
International Relations - Rizka Laya
Marketing Manager - Jenna Johnstone
Membership & Ticketing Manager - Joshua Springfield
Commercial Partnerships Manager - Nancy Hsu
Digital Coordinator - Aaron Cooper
Community Football Manager - Andy Pinches
Community Football Team Leader - Dene Almond
Community Football Team Leader - Martin Wilkes
Sporting Schools Coordinator - Laura Bryant


Club Achievements


  • Hyundai A-League Premiers
  • Hyundai A-League Champions


  • Westfield W-League Premiers


  • Hyundai A-League Champions


  • Hyundai A-League Champions
  • Hyundai A-League Premiers
  • Westfield W-League Champions


  • Westfield W-League Champions
  • Westfield W-League Premiers