The Club was formed in 1957 as Hollandia-Inala, and became Brisbane Lions, before it transitioned into Queensland Roar, playing under that name from the inaugural season of the Hyundai A-League in 2005-06. Following the establishment of two additional Queensland clubs, North Queensland Fury and Gold Coast United, the Roar re-branded to the current Brisbane Roar in 2009.

With three Hyundai A-League & three Westfield W-League Championships, Brisbane Roar Football Club is one of Australia's most successful football Clubs, also holding the record for the longest unbeaten run (36 games) in Australian football history.